Biography

Claire Garde, flute player

Claire Garde is a versatile musician and flutist who performs in baroque music, as an orchestral player, a chamber musician and is an active pedagogue. Equally passionate about pedagogy as well as performance, Claire finds it particularly gratifying to devote her time to both of these career paths. Her musical formation is of rare geographical and cultural diversity. It includes studies at the universities and conservatories in Freiburg im Breisgau, Zurich, Basel, Strasbourg, Lyon, and Paris. She has also attended masterclasses at the Orford Center of Arts in Canada. 

Claire Garde has a particular passion for performing on baroque instruments, and had the great fortune to study with Karl Kaiser at the Musikhochschule Freiburg im Breisgau, and with Marc Hantaï at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in Basel, Switzerland.
A passionate chamber musician, Claire Garde co-founded with Stephanie Gurga the Ensemble Da Camera Freiburg in 2007. This ensemble of variable size and constitution, interprets a vast repertoire of music, from early baroque though the first half of the 20th century, with authenticity and conviviality.
Her musical flexibility  as well as her refined interpretations lead to invitations for recordings. She recorded on baroque piccolo with Michael Schneider and La Stagione Frankfurt the disc Teleman grand concerto vol. 5 from Georg Philipp Telemann, which won a distinction in Diapason Magazine in February, 2018.
Claire performs regularly as a substitute within various orchestras including among others L’Arpa Festante (Christoph Hesse), the Orchester Wiener Akademie (Martin Haselbock) and the Orchestra Musique des Lumières (Facundo Agudin). In 2019, she also collaborated with the Kammerorchester Basel and the countertenor Vader Sabadus directed by Julia Schröder. The CD will come out begininig of 2021.

Appreciated for her dedication and professionalism, Claire Garde is a member of the Basel chamber orchestra iTempi Kammerorchester, where she plays under the direction of Gevorg Gharabekyan.

Since October 2021, Claire Garde has been teaching the historical flute at the Hochschule für Musik in Nürnberg.

Biographie

Claire Garde, flûtiste

Claire Garde est une musicienne et une flûtiste polyvalente qui se produit en musique baroque, en musique de chambre et au sein de divers orchestres. D'une curiosité intarissable et d’un enthousiasme permanent, sa formation musicale est d'une grande diversité. Voyageuse et musicienne accomplie, elle a étudié dans les universités et conservatoires supérieurs de musique de Freiburg im Breisgau, Zürich, Bâle, Lyon et Paris mais également au Center of Arts d'Orford au Canada.

Ayant une passion particulière pour l'interprétation sur instruments anciens, elle décide de poursuivre des études de flûte baroque, classique et romantique auprès de Karl Kaiser à la Hochschule für Musik de Freiburg im Breisgau et avec Marc Hantaï à la Schola Cantorum Basiliensis de Bâle.

Passionnée de musique de chambre, Claire Garde fonde avec Stephanie Gurga l'Ensemble Da Camera Freiburg, une formation instrumentale à géométrie variable qui interprète avec  authenticité et convivialité un vaste répertoire de musiques allant de l'époque baroque à la première moitié du 20ème siècle.

Son professionnalisme étant apprécié, elle est régulièrement engagée en renfort dans divers orchestres. Souvent demandée pour la flexibilité de son jeu et son interprétation raffinée, elle enregistre au piccolo baroque avec Michael Schneider (La Stagione Frankfurt) le disque Telemann grand concertos de Georg Philipp Telemann vol.5, récompensé par le magazine Diapason (Février 2018).

Au printemps 2019, elle joue avec le Kammerorchester Basel sous la direction de Julia Schröder avec le contre-ténor Valer Sabadus (Parution du disque début 2021). Appréciée pour son engagement, elle est membre du Kammerorchester iTempi de Bâle et y travaille sous la direction de Gevorg Gharabekyan.

 

Ses qualités lui permettent d’explorer tous les domaines de la musique : attirée autant par l'enseignement que par l'interprétation, Claire Garde travaille avec rigueur, sensibilité et partage son plaisir musical dans ces deux domaines.